Elvis Duran Rob Quicke

5/8/14 – Several years ago, WPSC 88.7, William Paterson University’s Brave New Radio station, created an award honoring people the Wayne, New Jersey-based university student body felt were, simply put, “brave in radio”. Past winners of the “Bravery In Radio Award” include: Les Paul, Bruce Morrow, Howard Stern, Robin Quivers and NPR’s “Radio Lab”. This year’s “Bravery In Radio Award” was presented to Elvis Duran.

Professor Rob Quicke, GM of 88.7 FM, stated, “For his efforts in producing creative and exciting radio over the course of his career, the students of WPSC are delighted to recognize Elvis Duran with this year’s Bravery In Radio award. Elvis is a broadcaster who creates undeniably compelling morning radio that is unafraid to address serious topics and go to places that other shows will not go. Elvis is very much an authentic broadcaster who truly connects with his listeners.” elvisaward

WPSC presented the award live on the Z100 morning show on May 9 at 8:00 am. Dr. Quicke says that the students enjoyed the experience: “The students were very excited to see with their own eyes how Elvis and his team create their compelling radio show.”

Elvis Duran hosts the Top 40 Premiere Radio Networks’ “Elvis Duran and the Morning Show”. The show (branded Z 100) is broadcast from New York City but is syndicated to 75 markets including: Philadelphia, Miami, Cleveland, St. Louis and Austin to name a few.

Elvis Duran’s bio states he loves traveling, enjoys great movies, books, wines and restaurants. He loves hosting the morning show which airs live weekdays from 6-10 AM Eastern and in the Central markets; “Elvis Duran And The Morning Show” airs live 5-9 AM (CT). Other time zones that are further west, the show airs via tape delay. ed logo

WPSC, the campus radio station of William Paterson University, is one of the top college radio stations in the country. WPSC was winner of the 2012 and 2013 national IBS award for Best College Radio Station (over 10k school enrollment) and a top 10 finalist for the 2014 MTV Woodie Award for Best College Radio Station.

# #


The ‘Bravery in Radio’ Award is presented by Brave New Radio (WPSC 88.7 FM and gobrave.org), the radio station of William Paterson University in Wayne, NJ. Brave New Radio is committed to producing radio programming that is groundbreaking and exciting, and in keeping with that tradition, the radio station’s management has created the ‘Bravery in Radio’ Award to honor those in the industry who exemplify the same goals.  You can read more about the story of the award by clicking here.

The recipient of the award is chosen by the radio station staff and announced to the public in April every year, corresponding with their live music marathon or Braveathon event.

wp logowide black

Every year this award is presented an individual, individuals or radio show who are recognized for their contribution to the world of radio. Specifically this award recognizes those that have achieved one or more of the following:

  • Have been involved with the creation and broadcast of unique radio programming that can be considered pioneering in its content
  • Have been instrumental in influencing other radio professionals with their track record of producing innovative and creative radio content over a significant period of time
  • Have taken risks and made courageous choices in their radio careers and have demonstrated unwavering commitment to the medium of radio
  • Have utilized or created new technologies to assist in their radio broadcasts in unique ways

For more information about this award, please contact Professor Rob Quicke at quicker@wpunj.edu. Many thanks go to: George Dassinger, James Noland, Phillip Sprayberry, Steve Leeds, Dr. Steven Marcone, the Music and Communication departments at William Paterson University and the student staff of WP 88.7 FM.

wp logo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s